2021 White Tricorn Hat Award


The White Tricorn Hat award was presented to Lester Savage in 2021 as part of the Lexington Virtual Patriots Day Events.


Each year, since 1954, the White Tricorn Hat award  has honored an outstanding resident of the town of Lexington on Patriots Day. Only in 2020 was the award was not presented, due to unprecedented measures put in place by State and local officials to slow the spread of COVID-19.  However, all 2020 nominations received through March 31, 2020 will be included for consideration of the 2021 award.  


See below for more details and criteria for nominating a worthy Lexington resident for the White Tricorne Hat.



      2021 Nominations now closed


Print form and complete by hand  -> 


Open fillable word document         ->    


Also, congratulations to Carla Fortmann, 2019's White Tricorn Hat recipient. In April 2019, while the weather attempted to dampen the Spirit of Patriots Day in Lexington, a strong showing of town support joined the 2019 Lions Club President Colby Crogan at Patriots Day ceremonies for the presentation of the award to outstanding Lexington resident Carla Fortmann, a worthy recipient of the 2019 White Tricorn Hat Award.


White Tricorn Hat History


1954-1959 1960-1969 1970-1979 1980-1989 1990-1999 2000-2009  2010-Present






The White Tricorne Hat Award, Lexington's Oustanding Citizen of the Year, is presented annually on Patriots Day.


The committee judges the candidates against the following criteria:

  1. Must be a current resident of Lexington.
  2. Must not be a current major elected office holder.
  3. Must not have won the award previously.
  4. Of the candidates that meet the above qualifications, the committee* will select the person who, in their opinion, meets the following criteria based on the submitted application and supporting material:
    • has demonstrated a dedication to the principles of outstanding leadership.
    • has advanced the American way of life in Lexington by giving unselfishly of his or her time and talents over the years, beyond the normal bounds of his or her normal occupation. 
  5. The award is presented without regard to sex, race or religious affiliation. Nomination forms and instructions are now available.
  • The committee is composed of a representative of the Lexington Lions Club, Lexington Clergy Association, Lexington Rotary Club, Lexington Chamber of Commerce, Lexington Lodge of Elks, and the Lexington Historical Society. In addition, the two most recent recipients of the award are voting members of the committee.


2014 John Lucente

The 2014 White Hat Recipient

John Lucente



Beverly Allison Kelley - 2007 White Tricorne Hat Recipient
The 2007 White Hat Recipient

Beverly Allison Kelley


2006 Recipient - Winston E.

The 2006 White Hat Recipient

Winston E. "Pat" Flynn